“FAVORITE THINGS” 30TH BIRTHDAY PARTY – PART 2

Welcome back! If you haven’t read Part One of this post, please do so below. We continue today with the Korean Taco Bar, Drink Bar and Dessert Bar.

KOREAN TACO BARKorean Bar - Menu Board 1

Korean food was the next thing on Blake’s list of favorite things. He has been loving Korean food, especially the Korean style tacos, since he had them in NYC the first time we visited in 2012. Every time he comes across a food truck or restaurant that serves them, he gets them, so I scoured the internet to find a good recipe. I found THIS ONE for the pork recipe. Korean Food Bar - TacosKorean Tacos are traditionally served with an Asian slaw, cilantro, limes and corn tortillas. I also had flour tortillas, because Blake likes them better than corn and, well, this is his favorite things. The Asian slaw was kind of a mixture of recipes I looked up. I used red cabbage, sugar snap peas and carrots with a vinegar based dressing.Korean Food Bar - Taco Fixen's

DRINK BAR

The drink bar was really easy; mainly because I didn’t have to make anything!

You can see pics of his favorite drinks below:Drink Bar - Menu Board 1

Drink Bar - Banner
 Drink Bar - Cups
Drink Bar - Cokes
 Drink Bar - cream soda
Drink Bar - yohoo

DESSERT BARdessert - banner

image

The Dessert Bar was my favorite to design, mainly because I LOVE to bake and have a major sweet tooth. These items are also some of my favorite to make.

I knew we needed a cake. It is a birthday after all. I have made this milky way cake for him in the past and he loves it, so this is what he requested. Recipe HERE.dessert - cake 1

image

When Blake and I first started dating he was obsessed with Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pies. I had always wanted to make him a homemade version and I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to try it out.  After trying several recipes, I combined two recipes for what I thought was the best result. I made the cookies from THIS RECIPE.dessert - oatmeal creme pies

He also fell in love with these peanut butter cornflake cookies a few years ago. I make them at Christmas a lot, so he requested them. They are literally one of the easiest things you can ever make. Recipe HERE.dessert - peanut butter cookies
BANANA PUDDING. He loves my banana pudding.  I make it how my mama makes it and we have always loved it.  We even had her make pans full for our wedding rehearsal dinner.  To make it a little cuter to serve, I  bought mini mason jars and wrapped it with black cardstock.  I like for people to have individual servings to make the party going experience more convenient.dessert - banana pudding 2desser - banana pudding 1
Lastly, I knew Blake would want some kind of doughnut. This boy loves him some doughnuts. We discovered Ellie’s Old Fashioned Doughnuts when we moved to our house near downtown Franklin, TN, which is right across the street from the Franklin Farmer’s Market.  They sell different varieties there every Saturday morning, and they are some of the freshest, most delicious doughnuts ever. We bought two dozen for the party and they happened to have strawberry shortcake and chocolate that morning, which are some of his favorites. It was totally meant to be!desserts - donuts
More dessert pics…..Dessert - Cookies
dessert - table
 Well, that’s a wrap for Blake’s 30th! I hope you enjoyed checking it out. If you try out the recipes or have any comments or questions, let me know on Instagram @itsgoodtome or on Twitter at @igtmblog

Leave a comment